Roon without a Nucleus?

I am sure that this is an old question, but I am a newbie and my searches have not answered my question.

I have tried Roon in the free version, and I liked the potential it offers. At the time I was using an old MacBook Pro as a nucleus, and this was not particularly successful. Rather cumbersome. It also seemed an unnecessary duplication.

My system includes a Devialet Expert 120 amp and Cambridge Audio CXN (v2) streamer/DAC. The CXN streams Tidal and also holds a 2Tb SSD with FLAC files. All this is happily controlled on either an iPhone or iPad.

Now the issue is that I do not have a computer or similar to act as a nucleus. I really do not wish to invest in another machine to this end, not simply because of the cost, but because my wife would kill me in my sleep! My question is “why cannot the CXN plus SSD become a nucleus?”. Surely there must be another way to bring Roon into the equation?

Regards from Perth, Australia

Derek

Hi Derek, welcome!

I think you mean Roon “Core”, not Roon “Nucleus”. Nucleus is just a machine dedicated to running Core for people who do not want to install it themselves. You can use any other machine with any other OS that is supported by Core. If getting a Nucleus was a requirement to use Roon, I would have looked somewhere else in a heartbeat.

Yes indeed, anything XXX + SSD can do the same as Nucleaus functionally.

Hi Derek

First a bit of nomenclature , the nucleus you are referring to in Roon Parlance is the “The Core”. A Nucleus is a custom built Roon (rather expensive) appliance acting as a server (ie a small form computer with or without an included drive.)

The simple answer to your question is no – Roon passes information from its Core to the CXN but alas not the other way, I don’t know of any streamer that can do this .