RoonServer on Docker vs traditional Linux install

I bought an Intel NUC 10 Performance Kit equipped with 32GB of RAM, 256GB M.2 nVME SSD, and 2TB SATA SSD. I currently have ROCK installed on it and it is running just fine. I’m new to Roon but am a tech-savvy person.

At this point, I feel that the hardware I have is too powerful for ROCK alone and that I can use it for other purposes. I’m planning on wiping everything and replacing the OS with a standalone Debian Linux and just use docker containers for both the Roon Server and Plex Media Server.

Questions:

1. Is there any reason/disadvantage of using a Roon Server docker container compared to just using the install script available in the website? Of course, the docker container adds overhead but that I think that’s negligible. It’s how docker technology is designed in the first place. I have a couple of docker containers in my Synology NAS so I’m familiar on how to use it.

2. Is there a recommended container in docker hub for the Roon Server? This is the most updated container with a lot of downloads that I saw.

3. If I decided to install Roon directly to the Debian Linux OS, what package pre-requisites are needed?

Thanks for the help.

@Kevin_Mychal_Ong,

The biggest concern with using a docker container compared to a traditional install is that it adds a layer of complexity to manage. Many people use docker containers with Roon without a problem, but we’ve also seen issues pop up stemming from the configuration of a docker container.

If you’re comfortable with maintaining a docker container and configuring settings as-needed, great! If this isn’t something you know much about, it could add some complexity if things go wrong. Docker containers are technically something we consider to be in the #tinkering realm, and while they can be a good option for some, our support team does not assist with the configuration and troubleshooting of docker-specific issues.