Set up questions, What / Where is the Core Core?

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)
Not sure as this is my question.
I have Windows 10 computer.
I have a Roon Ready device a Gato Audio amplifier.
Which one is my core?

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on IWiFi/Ethernet)
Ethernet cable to switch connecting the internet router and my Seagate Personal Cloud NAS.

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)
Roon Ready Gato DIA 250s NPM

Description Of Issue
I just need to set up Roon. I need to know if my Windows 10 computer is my core or is the Gato Audio DIA 250 s NPM the core. I intend to control Roon with an Android tablet, phone and the Windows 10 laptop.

I have some experience as I have Roon Essentials on a Elac device this will be disconnected.

As yet I have not connected the Gato Audio DIA 250s NPM. Do I need to have this device up and running before I set up Roon?

Core is where the Roon program is running.

Sorry to appear daft but where will the roon program be running? Will it be the Windows 10 laptop or the roon ready device?

You have to download the Roon program and install it on a computer.
In this case, your laptop.

https://roonlabs.com/downloads.html

Will this mean I will always need the laptop to be running to play music?

Yes, you need a computer to run a computer program. :sunglasses:

The laptop is good to see if you like Roon, but you’ll probably want to buy a different solution in the future.

Okay I think I get it. But what is “roon ready” about my device? What does it claim to be able to do by calling itself “roon ready”?

Roon Ready means that your device has all the necessary smarts to understand a network input from Core.

E.G. -
Outputs are devices that make noise.

Roon is built from the ground up to run a multi-room audio system. Whether you have one output or a dozen or more, we have you covered.