Sharing a USB HDD mounted on Raspberry Pi based Roon Endpoint

Hi,

I am new to Roon. Currently I’m running a RPI with a Hifiberry Digi Pro as a Roon endpoint. The Core is stored on a different computer in the same Network.

To the RPI I have attached a 2.5 USB HDD. I was wondering if I somehow could share the HDD so the Roon Core can use it … in order to play the FLACS on the HDD.

Regards

Is there a reason you can’t attach the HD to the core?

Perhaps you could provide details of your Roon core. What OS etc.? BTW, the thread subject is misleading … it would seem that you already have mounted a USB HDD on Raspberry Pi.

Because the computer with the core is in a different room. Streaming the FLACS via Powerline from there does
not work. But the PRI as an endpoint works fine.

I have changed the subject. Thank you.
The core is installed on a Win10 computer an connected to the RPI Hifiberry Digi + pro via Powerline in a different room.
Everything works absolute perfect accept playing FLACS from the HDD of the core computer.
With PiCoreplayer its no problem.

Sorry, I’m struggling to understand what problem you have and what device the USB should be connected. Ideally, you want the USB drive connected to Roon core. PiCorePlayer is a Squeezebox endpoint.

Some details of your setup would be really helpful. Otherwise it’s difficult to assist you. The subject line is still misleading.

All audio data must pass through the Roon Core device regardless of where the HDD is located. In the case of connecting the HDD to your RPi, the RPi would first send the Flac data to the Roon Core, then Roon Core would stream uncompressed PCM data back to the RPi (or any other) endpoint. If the HDD is connected to the Core directly, data only moves once from the Core to the RPi endpoint.