Should a ROCK server be left on 24/7 or not

Any views please on whether to leave a ROCK on 24/7 or not?

Which creates more wear and tear?

Leave it running 24/7/365. Turning it off and on daily is way more stressful for the components.

4 Likes

If I COULDN’T leave it on 24/7 then I’d throw it away and replace it with something that could.

It’s a modern computer and will be old and outdated before it fails. Like all modern computers, you will end up throwing away a perfectly functioning machine in 5-10 years.

Sheldon

3 Likes

I see myself patching machines into household appliances in 2030, I hate throwing tech away and what’s to be done :wink:

1 Like

I wonder which components would profit from leaving the device running 24/7?

While I’m no engineer my guess is: for a standard NUC kit the built-in fan is not one of the parts profiting from an always-on strategy… :sunglasses:

Power cycling is some kind of stress for the electronics, but is it really “way more” and of relevance for a ROCK / NUC use case as described here: 1 cycle a day on average?

Do you have an estimate how much longer a NUC would work when left to “always on”?
Next question: how would this relate to the energy potentially saved?

We’d also need an assumption on how long a NUC works before breaking because of age and how many power cycles are included it? Maybe 5 … 7 yrs of life, maybe more if the MTBF values of Intel for NUC boards (*) are used; and at least 10,000 power cycles (some say 40,000 cycles are built into average computers, nowadays)?

(*) Not sure if this includes the fan :wink: (or the psu) …

2 Likes

Yes absolutely it’s what its designed for.

Yes.

Electronics like to be stable. Inrush currents, the heating and cooling components, etc. etc. all contribute to wear and tear. Keeping things powered, warm, and stable is the right thing to do.

I’ve seen too many things blow up from power surges over the years. I don’t leave anything turned on unless it’s being used.