Sonos loses grouping [Solved - SONOS Zones Muted]

@support. I’m new to Roon as of yesterday. The install went very smoothly and it imported most of my music (another topic). I have the “latest” 1.5 build 363 64 bit using ROCK on a NUC with 8 GB RAM and 128 GB SSD.

I have 3 Sonos zones: Office, Living Room, and Whole House (mutually exclusive). I see all three in Roon but didn’t see any way to group them within Roon. I seem to recall reading somewhere that isn’t currently supported. Please correct me with the proper procedure if I’m wrong.

I went directly to Sonos and grouped the 3 zones using Office as the primary. Roon plays to all three but seems occasionally to have problems. In one case, I advanced the music to skip the rest of the track that was playing, and it dropped the Sonos grouping, i.e. it reverted back to just Office. It isn’t a big problem, since I can regroup them, but it is definitely a nuisance.

At at least 2 other times today, it has dropped the Sonos grouping seemingly at random. I wasn’t actively doing any fiddling with it at those times, so did not notice if something in particular was happening. I think the last time there was an internet slow-down or glich (not sure), which might have been the source.

If there’s some setting I can adjust, please advise. Otherwise, I would appreciate your attention to fixing this in one of your updates.

Steve Vorenberg

The Sonos grouping works better lately, that symptom sounds like a WiFi problem.

I have most everything connected via Ethernet cable. Two exceptions: the link between the Sonos router and “Office” is WiFi, as is the link between the Sonos router and the controller. My Synology NAS, PC, and NUC are all connected via Ethernet cable to the router. I did add a port extender to the router since I didn’t have a free port for the NUC, in case that’s pertinent.

Steve

A WiFi extender?