Storage Location Offline and Added Music Folder Disappears from Settings

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)
Core is on Synology NAS.
Clients on Mac and iOS.
All running the latest Roon 1.7.

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)
Core and music folder on the same NAS, which is connected to UniFi system through ethernet. Mac and iOS devices using WiFi.

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)
Bridge running on a Raspberry Pi, connected to a USB DAC.

Description Of Issue
Hi everyone,

I’m new to Roon and only tested it for a couple of weeks. I run Roon Core on my Synology NAS and added only one music folder from the same NAS, which includes about 700 albums.

This evening I opened Roon and it said my storage location could be offline, so nothing showed in my library. I went to settings and found out that there was no folder in the Storage tab.

I added the same folder again and went out. When I came back home all albums showed but a few moments later the storage location problem occurred again, no folder in the Storage tab. I can access my music folder all the time.

Could anyone give me some advice about how to solve this problem? When you open Roon and try to enjoy some music but find an empty library, that is disappointing…

Thank you!

One explanation might be that you have a bad Ethernet cable.

Easy and quick enough to check.

Worse case is that your NAS or a drive is failing.

The fact that Roon does, however briefly, find your music makes me think it’s a hardware problem of some sort.

Thank you for your reply. If the ethernet connection is broken, will the music folder disappear from the settings?

I checked my NAS drives yesterday and all reports said they are OK. I kept copying files to my NAS, and no error occurred.

I haven’t found any connection problem except this Roon one. The same setup worked fine for two weeks until today.