Subscribe to Qobuz?

I’m contemplating subscribing to Qobuz, taking advantage of their lower price promotion.

A few years ago, I use to subscribe to Spotify Premium, but never really used it, so I cancelled it. Other than Spotify, I have very little experience with streaming, relying on my local library. I like collecting physical media, but that’s becoming more difficult as the streaming market grows.

Those of you with experience, any thoughts or suggestions you can share that might help me decide?

I checked with Qobuz about what happens if I pay for a year to save money and end up canceling part way through. They said they do not give prorated refunds and I would have access through the remaining period, at which time the subscription would end.

I hate to spend $150 and not end up using it much, but like the idea of saving a bit on subscription costs. There is the 30 day trial period, but I’m afraid that may not be enough time for the novelty to wear off.

1 Like

I was with Tidal for a few years and recently left to sign up with Qobuz, after I did a 30-day trial. The main reason that I left Tidal was that streaming consistently at CD level while driving around the Bay Area was just abysmal. Furthermore, their customer service plain, sucks!

Qobuz doesn’t suffer from the same issue, I find their streaming just sounds a bit better, and they actually have customer service! A final bonus is that it is cheaper than Tidal.

2 Likes

I also much prefer playing local files but have had Tidal for quite a few years and more recently Qobuz.
Even if you don’t stream much having either Tidal or Qobuz integrated into Roon allows you to discover a lot more music. The streaming was a secondary thing for me.

Go the trial and see what you think. You can always pay by the month for Qobuz and I would be surprised if you stopped using it - especially if you are using Roon as well.

Subscribe monthly to see if you like it. @Saturn94

3 Likes