Support for Plexamp Headless?

Hi @spockfish,

I’m relatively new to Roon but already had a bunch of Raspberry Pi’s lying around and Ropieee has taken my listening to new heights while still supporting my wife’s Spotify (thanks!). I also use Plexamp (mostly for offline listening) but have seen they’ve just released Plexamp Headless for Rpi. Not sure what’s involved, but it’d be amazing if that ran on Ropieee too (especially if I end up in another build 952 issue where I can’t use Roon for 2 weeks).

Problem is that Plex only provides a binary for 64-bit.
RoPieee uses an 32-bit kernel (for now), so that’s a no-go.

1 Like

I’d actually assumed that the reason you had a separate build for Pi4 was because you’d switched to 64-bit, I guess not :slight_smile:

1 Like

Nope. But it is customized and as a preparation for 64 bit I created the separate builds.

I’ve looked into it with more detail, and afaik the Plex devs are not going to provide a 32-bit build.

That means I’ll give 64 bit a little bit more prio (until now it was on the list, but not a big prio as it does not provide any advantages).

Thanks

1 Like

Awesome, thanks. Happy to be a guinea pig if you’re looking for testers at some stage. I’ve got a few RPi4’s (and one RPi3) and a few different DACs (2x USB and a DigiAMP+ HAT). Also have the official touchscreen (and a non-official one) so should be able to test a few different scenarios.

3 Likes

Hi @James_Fitzell ,

Just an heads-up that I’ve started doing some 64-bit testing over here.
If this runs properly for a few days I tend to release a beta for this.

Headless Plexamp is the next thing after that.

Thanks

8 Likes

Just stumbled across this and have to say that as a very satisfied user of RopieeeXL (using Shairport Sync to Airplay Plexamp to RPI4 with Boss2 Dac) I am very excited by this news.
Waiting patiently for now and certain to donate soon.

All the best
Steven

Just wanted to keep this alive by saying I would absolutely be in to this as well!