The curious case ... of the Apple HomePod(s)

I wanted to share an experience. This Saturday I purchased a pair of HomePod speakers and I set them up as a stereo pair. I tried them with Airplay 2 directly from my iPhone (apple music) but I also tried using Roon to stream music to each individually. They were very … curious. I had to return them.

I set them up on a sturdy and solid AV unit with the TV in the middle. Typical use case I think.

The homepods are praised for their auto eq adjustment ability using microphones to ‘sense’ the space around them. Excellent. So what is this boomy bass below 45Hz? I started playing some EDM tracks and I got such boomy bass that I could not listen for more than a few minutes. Very curious… I tried resetting them, ensured the firmware was updated and re-positioned them (after shaking them a bit to ensure the accelerometer sensed they were in a new position). Nope… boomy bass with instant headache. I took out my trusty frequency response app and indeed I could see a perfect frequency response down to about 45Hz… below that, TONS of bass (+12 db or more) all the way down to 30Hz. Tried playing ‘Non Believer’ by London Grammar (high res version) which is mixed with a lot of low frequency electronic bass and I use it to test speakers’ bass response. I lasted about 30 seconds as it was almost shaking my sofa :-o
Tried separating the homepods thinking perhaps the stereo pair was problematic. No luck… boomy bass was still there (just less volume). Tried moving them around the living room. No luck.

So what about that famous self adjustment? Can it be that the 12+ db bass boost at 45Hz and below is intentional?

Very curious…

I’m surprised they actually can go that low at all, but likely they cant and that why it goes to pieces.