The fundamental problem of network traffic?

So I’m new to Roon and I’m enjoying it but…
Is there a solution to the problem of network traffic. I’m listening to an album streaming from my Mac Mini through a Gigabit switch to various hard wired end points and all is fine until I need to do anything else like, transfer a file from one computer to another or in fact even send an email…playback stutters and sometimes stops.
So is there a way to cocoon my roon!? i.e isolate that network, apportion an amount of speed to it and isolate it? I think you can do that with intelligent high end switches from Cisco but I’m not in that league unfortunately.
thanks for any help.

Troubleshooting networks remains a dark art to me.

One thing that plagued my network for awhile: a network loop. It created an enormous amount of excess traffic.

There are network gurus around here, but your job one is to tell them your network setup: hardware, wiring, who’s connected to what.

I’ve never had a network bandwidth problem. There’s more than enough bandwidth for Roon and others. If you’re trying to do things on the same machine as the Roon core, then I would say you are CPU bound, rather than network bound.

Improper setting of managed switch options drives Roon mad. Best not to attempt.

Thanks
And good to know…it could indeed be the CPU on the Core machine.
I’ll investigate.

Hello @anp

Can you let me know the model/manufacturer of all your networking gear and how everything is connected? I would also suggest that you take a look at our Networking Best Practices Guide for any useful suggestions there.

Thanks,
Noris