The Stranger - We All Have

I’m a newbie to Roon so I figured why not throw this out there as an introduction.

Billy Joel’s song “The Stranger” starts out with we all have a face that we hide away forever and we take them out and show ourselves when everyone has gone.

So for a topic, Here are some songs which I wouldn’t normally admit I like and are guilty pleasures. I will generally only listen to if I am the only one home or in the car, etc! Certainly I wouldn’t tell the kids I like some of them!

Harry Styles - Kiwi & Watermelon Sugar
Miley Cyrus - Party In The U.S.A
Kevin Gates - 2 Phones
Social House - Magic In The Hamptons
Ariana Grande - 7 Rings
Drake - Hotline Bling
The Entire House of Pain - House of Pain album!

Anyone else want to share some songs they hide away until everyone has gone?

2 Likes

I could not care less what anyone else thinks about the music I listen to.

2 Likes

Well to get things started, I would classify this as a guilty pleasure, but, I’m not really afraid to let anyone know I like them…

Partridge Family The Partridge Family Album (their first). Classic early 70s AM pop.

5 Likes

There’s a whole industry around guilty pleasure pop. My daughter and I go to their event evenings.

3 Likes

I’ll have to check this out!

We went to see them in a huge tent at Glastonbury. They started with Mr Blue Sky by ELO and the hundreds of 20 somethings just took off, it was amazing.

2 Likes

My son’s guilty pleasure, he was five when it was released.

1 Like

Oh Oh Oh, I just remembered one…

Produced and co-written by Todd Rundgren. His remakes of “Rebel, Rebel” and “The Book I Read” are worth the listen alone!

1 Like

I have a whole bunch of stuff that I grew up with - played to death by my parents - that I wouldn’t tend to play for anyone else, including tracks like:

Durham Town, and The Last Farewell - Roger Whittaker
Fort Worth Jail - Lonnie Donegan
What have they done to the rain - The Four & Only Seekers