Tidal discontinuing albums? Has anyone else noticed this?

I do love Roon and I love Tidal. However, I have been quite bothered by Tidal simply dropping titles from my Roon library (meaning they removed them from their library).

Granted, my tastes lean toward some pretty obscure pop records, and a lot of them are records that I have only on vinyl, are out of print, some were never issued on CD, etc… it was such a thrill finding this stuff on Tidal, and then it’s gone. Perhaps Tidal drops stuff that isn’t getting much play?

Has this affected anyone else? Also, I am a newb here, and I can’t seem to find a Tidal discussion group? Can anyone suggest one for me?

1 Like

Have you made sure that Tidal might not have them under alternate variations? An example would be if you had it under a FLAC version, but that has now been changed to an MQA version. The FLAC version would no longer be available, and you’d have to find then add the MQA version.

This has been happening for many years and it is annoying and difficult to keep track of. Tidal occasionally just changes versions, not necessarily from FLAC to MQA, sometimes just indiscernibly different FLAC versions. Maybe it’s a licensing rights thing, I don’t know.

If you know that it’s happened, you can add the new version. But you would have to monitor the Album numbers in your library and compare Export lists to keep on top of it which is more than I care to do.

1 Like

In addition to what @andybob wrote above, there is also something else: sometimes the record labels decide to remove part of all of their catalogues from the streaming services like Tidal, Qobuz or Apple Music.
One example is label Tzadik (with records from John Zorn, Derek Bailey…), at a certain point last year they decided to remove their whole catalogue from all the streaming services and they are even not available anymore for buying (like the download store from Qobuz or Apple).