Tidal is loading slowly - error

@support

Hi

Hope very much you can help. I’m new to Roon and I would really like this to work out. Thanks!

Issue

Everytime I start playing a track “from” Tidal I get this error after 3-5 seconds in the song: “Tidal:Tidal media is loading slowly. This may indicate a networking ot connectivity problem.”

Setup

Roon version: 1.5 (build 363) stable (64)
Device: Lenovo Thinkpad T420s, i7, 8Gb Ram
DAC, USB

Network: Fiber, ethernet. Actual speed, 300+Mbit/300+Mbit

Media: Tidal, Master, Exclusive mode on, Force volume on.

Hello @Mik_Shridhar_Hojlund,

Thanks for contacting us regarding this issue. Can you please let me know what the model/manufacturer for your router is? We have seen that some routers require special settings to be applied as per our Networking Best Practices Guide.

How is your Core connected to the network? Is it connected directly to the Router via Ethernet or are you making use of any switches/range extenders/powerline adapters in this setup?

Thanks,
Noris

Thank you Noris for responding so quickly.

The router is a Technicolor TG799VAC Extream. The core is connected via Ethernet. I have tried both directly to the router and through a TP-Link Gigabit Powerline Adapter - 2000 Mbps. Also wifi and it’s same outcome.

Thanks for confirming that info @Mik_Shridhar_Hojlund,

Since you are making use of a Technicolor router I would suggest you try the following:

• Add an exception for Roon and RAATServer in the router’s IPV6 firewall settings (as mentioned in our Networking Guide)

• Change your router’s DNS server to Google DNS or Cloudflare

I would not advise making use of powerline adapters as we have seen them cause issues in the past, having an unmanaged switch with a direct connection to the router is what we would recommend to have in place. Please let me know if my suggestions help.

Thanks,
Noris

It seems my IPV6 is disabled (see picture) and I don’t know how to enable it.