Topping USB External DAC - Digital warbles while using Roon Ready from Bluesound Node

Roon Core Machine

Win 11 Pro, i9-10580K, 64GB

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Wired, 1gb Netgear managed switch

Connected Audio Devices

PC --USB to SPDIF → Bluesound Node 3 --USB → Topping D90SE --coax–>Sony Amp --speaker cable–>Infinity Sterling

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

Instead of rewriting this I’ll copy the text:

I’m an IT professional so I’m generally pretty good at tracking down a problem.

Previous setup - current Node (I guess 3?) hardwired to the same network as my Roon Core PC, no issues with Nas library or Roon or Tidal/Qobuz etc - had some issues with Iheartradio podcast stopping short but don’t care too much there. Also have a PC run into optical in without a problem. Output is coax into 90’s Sony receiver pushing two Infinity speakers. No issues with this setup at all minus Iheartradio, but again not a big deal.

I got upgraditis and bought a Topping D90SE. Everything works great except for Roon Ready into the external DAC makes a horrible digital warbling every two seconds when the music gets louder it gets generally worse. I defaulted the D90SE to make sure nothing was off there, same issues. It plays from my PC okay, from Tidal okay, seems to just be Roon. I rebooted all equipment involved including the Core PC and still the issue. Roon from my PC plays fine in Roon and HQPlayer, but this is the Roon Ready in the Node which I use all day long and I really want to work.

So the screen that I’m familiar with that you can turn off the automatic clockrate is gone and the Node automatically sets fixed volume. I assume the clockrate is turned off. I can “Reset all” on the BlueOS Audio screen and I can specifically turn off the clockrate after I select the USB output but that doesn’t fix anything.