Trying to use Roon with Raspberry Pi + ES9028Q2M board (RoPieee)

Hello, I’m semi-new to Roon and brand new to using Raspberry Pi 3 Model B.

I’m a bit of an amateur here but I wanted to try to make my own little media player for a semi-reasonable price and myself a Raspberry Pi and some parts from Audiophonics.fr, most importantly the ES9028Q2M board, which currently has “preliminary support” according to the RoPieee website. I chose RoPieee because it sounded simple enough and I wasn’t gonna use it for much else than music.

Installing and setting everything up seems to have gone well, and Roon on my Macbook Pro seems to have detected the RoonBridge in question…

But when I go to the settings and audio tab, the device (which I named “dack” doesn’t show up.

Am I missing something here? Pretty new to this stuff and I certainly don’t know how to program, so any help is appreciated. I hope I’ve offered all necessary information, otherwise you can just ask and I’ll try to clarify.

Is the RoPieee extension enabled is Roon? Or is the extension only for display? hmm. need @spockfish to chime in…

can you get to the web interface for RoPieee on the Pi? If so, is the DAC board enabled?

No, the RoPieee extension isn’t enabled in Roon, must’ve been something I overlooked.

How do I find and install that? I haven’t figured out how extensions work with Roon yet.

I think the extension just shows up automatically, but only if you are using the 7 inch display on the Pi. I am not sure, that’s why i said we need to get the author of RoPieee to chime in, sorry for the confusion here.

Were you able to get to the RoPieee web interface and go through its configuration? like enabling the DAC?

Yes, I got into the web interface and enabled the Dac, so this is all pretty confusing for me.

I also forgot to mention that I’m currently not using a Display, but I ordered one online so I might install one and see if it gives me any luck when the Display arrives.