Unable to connect to Apple Time Capsule

@support I have been struggling to connect to the path from my MacBook Pro to my music files, loaded on a 1TB portable SSD connected via USB to a Time Capsule. Prior to this, I have been connecting the portable SSD directly to my MBP, but it is often inconvenient because I am moving about the home/office all the time. So connecting the SSD to the TC seemed like a good idea.

I hope the fix is simple because I am not good with programming. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

you will need to connect as a network share IIRC… perhaps easier if your TC has a fixed IP address too.

see this for some info https://kb.roonlabs.com/FAQ:_I’m_having_trouble_setting_up_my_NAS

I can’t say I have found anyone sharing an external disk tho.

Hello @PR_Terhorst,

How are you mounting your external hard drive in Roon? As @wizardofoz mentioned, it will work best if you mount it by IP address and then reserve the IP address of the Timecapsule in your router. Can you please provide a screenshot of your Roon Settings -> Storage tab? It should look something like this:

Thanks,
Noris

Sorry for the delay, see screenshot. Couple of notes:

1. The Music folder shown is the default location of iTunes on my MBP but there are just a handful of files there (you can also see I created another path to some DSD files). I have 600gb of songs, which is why they are stored on a portable SSD connected to my Time Capsule. iTunes finds that SSD no problem, but Roon does not.
  2. The Seagate Backup is just that; I manually copy every CD I import to that drive, so that I have duplicates in case the SSD drive fails. It is only attached when I am copying files.

So, how exactly do I “mount it by IP address and then reserve the IP address of the Timecapsule in your router.” ?? Thanks!

Hello @PR_Terhorst,