Roon Core Machine

MacBook Pro 2019, Ram 16mb, Quad core, i7, 1.7ghz

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Connected Audio Devices

Sonos Port and Cambridge CXN V2

Number of Tracks in Library

16180 tracks

Description of Issue

I am new to Roon, moved music from Apple Music. All files are basically MP3 (low quality), and all new downloads are FLAC.

How do I convert my MP3 files to FLAC?

Do I just go to Qobuz or Tidal and download their versions? Delete lesser quality duplicates? What is the best way to do this?

Thank you.

Hi Robert you cannot convert MP3 to FLAC as MP3 is lossy and you cannot add that information back in.

You can rip FLAC from CDs or buy them at various sites (Bandcamp is great if you like supporting band’s directly).

You can also go through your library adding the albums to Qobuz and it will prefer those over the low quality ones in your library (you might also be able to use something like Soundiz to add them in Qobuz automatically, but I have not done this myself)

I made the mistake in the early 2000s of buying loads of MP3 albums and have been slowly replacing them with CD quality versions for those I really like.

eBay and Amazon are a source of cheap CDs for the ones you really like.

You don’t look that old.

9 Likes

Jim,

Thanks for your suggestion. I did not care about sound quality until now. I will use quobuz to replace my mp3’s. I have still a couple hundred cd’s I can rip into FLAC, and be done with it. I enjoy the roon experience, thus I dont mind managing my music from here forward. Thanks again. Robert

Michael, I meant to thank you not Jim, but like Jim, I too bought mp3 files…oh well…

2 Likes

You can link to Qobuz higher resolution files to stream in Roon or Adirvana, but if you want to download copies of the files to keep, you will need to buy them. Is that what you mean? You can also download files to play on your devices but you have to use the Qobuz app to play those. You are basically renting those files.