Upgrading to NUC8i7BEH - Used NUC - Suggestions Requested

Hello Rooners,

I have been running Roon core on my 11 year old Mcbook pro and its time to retire the poor fellow. It doesn’t allow me to get any further Roon updates and I am still on the 1.8 version. So I have manafed to secure a pretty decent NUC8i7BEH (albeit Second Hand) with the below configuration :
Intel(R) Core ™i7-8559U CPU at 2.71GHz
500GB M.2 for OS / System Drive
2 TB Sata SSD
32GB RAM

Thing is it comes with Windows 11 pro installed - So my first question is - I would have to wipe that off the 500gb Hard drive correct ? before I can start loading the ROCK OS ?

Would just unistalling the Wondows OS good enough or there is any formatting required ? Sorry i am not that tech savvy, so reaching out for some guidance

Second Question : Currently I am mainly using streaming through Tidal but have created quite a few playlists and saved some albums on my core profile. Will those not auto move to ROCK when i get the NUC setup and choose that as my main core ? Can someone guide me how do I ensure that my current core settings are transferred over to the NUC when I load ROCK as my main core. I don’t want to begin the installation process and lose those that I have cuated over the years.

Help a brother out please.

Thanks
Sam…

Yes. You will have to install ROCK over the top of the Windows installation - which will automatically wipe it. That bit is easy - just follow the ROCK Install Guide.

The only issue is that, depending upon the way that Windows was licensed on the NUC, once done, you may not be able to go back to Windows in the future if that was what you decided to do.

With the current Windows 11 pro installation, there are two possibilities:

1. An OEM version of Windows was installed linked to the BIOS - in this case, you will be able to re-install Windows again and activate it in the future with no issues.