USB fix for small pops and clicks during playback? [Schiit Bimby]

I have been using DietPi for several months running RoonBridge into a HifiBerry DAC+ without any issues. I recently upgraded to a Schiit Biforst MB, and have been having some problems using the RPi2 as a USB PCM source. Somewhat frequently, about once per ~2 minutes, there is a small pop/click in the audio playback akin to an LP pop or a CD skip. I went through a few iterations of USB cable, hard USB adapter, and AQ Jitterbug, but none solved the problem. I also increased the hardware buffer in Roon, but that did not help either. I’m very certain this is not a network issue, since I never once heard the problem with the DAC+ HAT on the same RPi.

Some Google searching turned up the suggestion of adding dwc_otg.fiq_split_enable=0 to /boot/cmdline/txt

I have no idea what this actually does, but it seems to have completely fixed the click/pop issue described above. From what I understand about DietPi, all user customizations may be overwritten at the time of update. Is this apparent fix worth adding to the DietPi kernel? Any further insight into what this actually does? Any information I could find was substantially over my head. @Dan_Knight

[Edit: I spoke too soon, the pops are not completely gone, though maybe less frequent. Does this suggest any other USB-related software tweaks?]

One things begs the question/s are you running Lan or Wifi and is this bit rate related perhaps too?

Wired Ethernet with a static IP. The above obeservations were made using exclusively 16/44.1 FLAC content ripped from CD, which represents 95% of my collection. As mentioned, I’m quite confident there is not a network issue since I did not hear any pops using a HifiBerry hat on the same RPi2 for months.

The other issue might be the Ethernet/USB resource sharing on the RPi…This is a known issue for RPi’s

That said I am running RoPieee DSD512 to an OPPO Sonica DAC USB on a RPi 3B on Ethernet and no issues at all

@JWC