Using the Parametric EQ causes interruptions while playing a song

MacBook Air (M1) ; Big Sur

First of all, I’m new to Roon and I’m using the Parametric EQ for the first time right now. But I using Amarra for quite a while (and their Parametric EQ was/is a reason to do so).

My Problem now: when I use the EQ with Roon, while playing a song, I generate interruptions anytime I’m using the EQ changing something. This is annoying as hell. I never had or have the same issue with Amarra. And it doesn’t matter if I’m streaming music or just play a song from my own collection.

So, what am I doing wrong here? I mean, that can’t be the way it should work, right?

When you apply the changes it interrupts.

Yes, exactly. I change Band 1 e.g. from +1db to +0.7 db and when finished moving it interrupts shortly.

That is by design (unfortunately), due to buffering. It should only be a brief interruption though. Anything longer and there is an issue somewhere. Agreed it is annoying and does not exactly invite tweaking.

See reference here in another thread:

Sure, it’s pretty short. But a little longer when streaming from Tidal for example. And why can’t I adjust the Buffer to avoid it? I mean, who is using an EQ when this cause interruptions all the way. Thinking about optimizing my EQ for different Headphones, Genres etc. seems to be crazy with this kind of setting.

How disappointing this is. I mean, I know that it can work.
Puh. And I was so happy having the opportunity using Roon now…

Ah, and thanks for the statement. Wow, “it’s not gonna happen…” After 3 Days using Roon concentrated Ireally can’t imagine to buy Roon. I never would have thought that…
EQs who can’t be used proberbly, Playlistintegration with Tidal which is… well. Right now this Software makes my Music Experience so much more complicatetd and frustrating… puh. I need a break to reconsider…

Unless you sit playing with DSP all day surely it’s a set and forget operation?