VLANs, Roon and ARC

I’m in the process of setting up a new home network with a desire to segregate certain devices with VLANs etc.

Has anyone already done this with Roon in their environment? I’m thinking port restrictions, inter VLAN routing etc.

What kit are you using too?

Well, Roon isn’t specifically designed with VLANs in mind, so you will need to keep that in mind yourself when you are designing your network. I’m a long-time IT professional with a pretty sophisticated home network, and I can’t for the life of me think if why I would want VLANs in my house; frankly, they are over-applied in business settings in all-too-many cases. Perhaps if you explained what your goals with VLANning are, we could help.

1 Like

At my house, I have two VLANs related to Roon: a main VLAN and an “IoT” VLAN. The Roon Server and almost all the endpoints are in the IoT VLAN, so I don’t have any issues with them.

My Windows machine, which is in the main VLAN, has no troubles with Roon. I’m able to use Roon Remote to control the server, and the server detects the audio devices on my Windows box as endpoints.

However, getting Roon Remote to work on my Android phone is more challenging. When my Android phone is at my home, it is in the main VLAN. To get the Roon Server to make my phone available as endpoint, I need to run the scyto/multicast-relay docker container in my network with --relay 239.255.90.90:9003 specified.

I use a P2P VPN connection from my phone to my home (WireGuard, or OpenVPN in tun mode). Since these VPN servers don’t support broadcast messages, I also run the synfinatic/udp-proxy-2020 docker container.

With those two containers running, and with firewall rules to allow the devices in the main network to talk to devices in the IoT network, I’m able to use Roon successfully.

(I also run a regular mDNS and SSDP relay between these two VLANs, but I’m not sure if they are needed for Roon.)