What is Roon? My thoughts

What is Roon - Just a marketing promise?

THE ULTIMATE MUSIC PLAYER FOR MUSIC FANatics no longer brings me joy.

I’ve been walking between frustration and fascination since August 2020. When everything works, Roon has the crown on, but before discovering old favorites is the safe scanning of the library. If the connection to the music services and involved devices is not stable, it’s game over.

Finding new music you like is no great feat for many music services today. Valence and/or Roon radio has remained a disappointment for me. I no longer expect Roon to learn my personal taste in music. Roon can stay in the genre. Roon knows the proximity of the artists to each other. Roon knows the popular tracks, but just not my taste, my mood or a radio function that is free of fast repetition.

Automatically diving into photos, bios, reviews, credits, lyrics, tour dates is possible for me at a very low level of fulfillment. This then looks great and is a joy to use. However, to ¾ I have to do it manually. Wikipedia and the internet offers much more than Roon. Tagging is a pain in Roon, so I continue to rely on MP3Tag, Foobar2000 or other programs. That gets the thought back to the roots. What is really helpful?

The connected music services (Qobuz/Tidal) soon have 90 million high resolution tracks. If you try to connect 2-3% of them to the library, you have nothing available in a performant way, because it simply does not respond acceptably and is overwhelmed. Certainly libraries in the range of 10,000 to 50,000 titles make more friends if logging into Tidal and/or Qobuz works out. Local inventories can take on a multiple of this size and remain performant longer. Unfortunately, those who succumb to the seduction of the music services still reach their limits far too quickly. However, this also happens without Roon in the apps of Qobuz, Tidal & Co. themselves.