Why is Roon ignoring my song genre tags?

I am new to Roon and so far it’s been a completely frustrating experience. Coming from using Logitech Media Server/Logitech Touch/iPeng, which is easy to use, Roon has been almost unusable to me; it feels like the Borg has taken complete control of my music collection. Admittedly, I don’t have much patience for programs/devices that aren’t user friendly and get frustrated quickly.

One major frustration is the way Roon seems to handle genres. For example, with LMS/iPeng, if I choose the genre Easy Listening, it will only show/play tracks I have tagged Easy Listening, just as I would expect. With Roon, it seems to ignore my track tags and play any tracks from any album associated with Easy Listening even though the track it’s playing is tagged with a different genre (i.e. Pop/Rock, Dance, etc).

I have gone in the settings and turned off “Show Roon Genres” and turned on “Show genres from file tags”, but that made no difference.

Is there a way to set Roon to only use my genre tags (I hope I’m using that term correctly)?

HELP!

1 Like

Hi James,

Roon currently only assigns Genres to albums and artists. They are currently working on expanding the metadata capabilities for the next major release. However, I don’t know if genre by song is part of that.

If you want to use genres from your file tags, you have it set up properly now. Roon will just assign those genre tags to the album.

Here’s a little more information regarding Genres.

Cheers, Greg

Thank you for the response and info. I’m disappointed to hear Roon currently doesn’t support song level genres.

You said my settings are correct for just displaying my genres. However, I noticed Roon is still showing its own genres as well.

For example, this album is displaying many genres that are not included in my tags