Windows 10 PC is not compatible with Roon app

Roon Core Machine

Acer aspire R14 laptop, Windows 10.

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Connected Audio Devices

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

I am new to Roon and my laptop, is not compatible with the Roon application and I am unable to open the app. I cannot find any helpful threads by searching the support thread.

Any suggestions on how to remedy this issue?

@Aaron_Bittner, welcome to the Community. Roon is compatible with Windows 10, but there may be something with your install that needs to be reviewed.

What version of Roon for Windows did you download, the Roon application or Roon Server:

https://roon.app/en/downloads

Roon will install everything you need to run Roon on the installed computer, while Roon Server installs the server component without a graphical front-end and needs Roon or Roon Remote to manage most of the functions with a graphical user interface.

Are you getting an error message when opening Roon? If so, what is it? What version of W10 are you using?

To be honest I do not know what I downloaded. I selected windows version and there were two files. I was able to complete the first dowload and the second one failed with the noncompatible warning. I found the roon app icon on my home screen, but nothing happens when I try to open it.

Do you see Roon or Roon Server in your Windows installed apps (either in Windows Settings or on the Start menu)? You want to install the Roon app (which includes Roon Server and is invisible to you) vs. Roon Server. If you have Roon Server installed, uninstall it and download the Windows Roon app from this link:

https://download.roonlabs.net/builds/RoonInstaller64.exe

2 Likes

What exactly was that warning?

How old is the laptop,
Is Windows up to date
Is it Intel Integrated Graphics (eg mine is HD Graphics 630 and is OK)

Which version of Open GL is installed , if it’s a old laptop it my be an old version , it’s a pre-requisite for Roon