Best SQ inexpensive Roon endpoint?

Im new to Roon but have integrated Roon into my Audio listening room, it’s Awesome!

I’m trying to decide the best endpoint for my whole house audio system ( background music). Im considering sonos Connect but wonder if Chrome Cast audio is better . Need analog output for convenance.

Your advice is very much appreciated other solutions are Very welcome

Thanks Bruno

If you’re up for a little diy, a Raspberry Pi with a suitable ’hat’ for analog out, running RoPieee is (in my opinion) the best & cheapest endpoint.

8 Likes

Your choice might be dictated by whether you want to group the ‘whole house’ systems with your main listening room system. If you do, you need to pick something with a protocol that you can group and has an output that will feed the main system. Chromecast Audio might fit the bill because it has an optical output that will pass through a digital stream up to (I think) 96/24. A Sonos Connect will pass through effectively 48/16; it’s analogue out is probably better than the CCA for the whole house systems but is considerably more expensive. Pick your compromise!

AndyR

Thanks for your thoughts ! I believe both sonos and ChromCast can be grouped with My DEQX HP-5 preamp DSP for audio system inside of Roon.

Do you have insights as to which unit is better on analog AQ output -Sonos or Chromecast Cast ?

Thanks

Hi Bruno,

The DEQX HP-5 looks an impressive piece of kit - I’ve just looked it up!

I see it is Roon Ready, so I am I right in assuming you are using in that mode connected via Ethernet? If so, you need to note that you can only group devices of the same type/protocol within Roon, eg Roon Ready (RAAT), or Sonos, or Chromecast. You can’t mix them. I could not see any reference on the DEQX website to it being Chromecast compatible; I think you may not be able to group it except with other Roon Ready (RAAT) devices.