Cheapest possible Roon UI on a large screen

Hi,
I’m fairly new to Roon and full of enthusiasm. I was inspired by this video and I like the idea of having a large screen displaying what is currently playing and allowing me or my significant other to control the system. I don’t have any hardware laying around though and I would like to keep the budget as low as possible.

What I found out on my own:

• Ropiee with a raspberry display - Nice as a remote but smaller than I would like and no way of picking an album directly
  • I could get a larger, read only display with a low cost monitor and a raspberry acting as web based display, but it would not Roon UI (at least that I could find)

Does anyone have a suggestion for the cheapest possible piece of hardware which could run a Roon UI? I’m open to anything from cheap Windows computers to android devices or anything else, the important part is that I can just hook it up, turn it on and have a full Roon UI on 20ish inches or larger.

I tried to find information in the forum but most posts seem to be about running the core, if you know of any existing threads please point me to them.

Thanks in advance for any idea.

There’s a third party app called TV:Remote for Apple TV (on the App Store)
This would give you display and control from any TV or monitor with an HDMI connection.
The display is really nice and you can select music with it although it’s control interface relies on the Apple Remote and scrolling so it can be less than ideal with large libraries.
But you could also control Roon from Roon Remote and use TV:Remote for display purposes only.

Edit: Forgot to mention you can find used Apple TVs for less than $50.
Just be sure it’s of a generation that supports the App Store. The earliest ones don’t.

2 Likes