Crackling/Popping with multichannel DSD playback

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Intel NUC8i7BEH running Roon ROCK Version 1.0 (build 254) production

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)
500/500 fiber → Firewalla Gold router → Ethernet Cable → Roon Core on ROCK on NUC

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

All music content files are on a 8 TB WD external HDD attached to NUC

Endpoints:
(1) NUC → HDMI → Marantz AV7704 → Emotiva amp

PROBLEM:

I’m getting crackling/popping on playback of my ripped DSD multichannel files. The DSD is of course converted to PCM by Roon. That’s fine by me, and is how I’ve been using Roon for 3+ years. Multichannel DSD is 90% of my listening, and has worked fine for 3+ years (no pop/crackle). However, for a variety of reasons, I have not listened to much music (and no mch DSD) in a couple of months. Now (noticed since yesterday) every mch DSD album I play has the crackle/pop.

From my testing aimed at ruling out a number of possible causes, I have determined that:

• There is no crackle/pop on non-DSD music played from Roon, including multichannel (eg, wav)

• There is no crackle/pop when playing the source SACD (physical disk, in an SACD player) via the same PrePro and amp and speakers

My hypothesis: The Roon DSD → PCM conversion is doing something that generates audio artifacts.

@support – can you help, please? – thanks

@otinkyad, I moved your post to the Support category.

@Robert_F – OK, thanks! I’m never sure what category to post in.

1 Like

Please share the DSD signal path.

@Marian – ah, yes, sorry, I meant to do that