HomePods around the house

I’m relatively new to Roon at home and am enjoying how it works. I do have a problem with my 3 HomePods though, sometime they lose sync or stop altogether. These are not my main listening system, more for radio and playlists around the house whilst I’m working or in the garden. The main system is separate and works as a Roon endpoint so that is fine. I have a workaround to get the HomePods and other airplay speakers to work consistently and reliably in sync. I have my iPad set up as a zone and then use its airplay to send around the house. It works perfectly but of course the volume control is not the one in the Roon app but in the airplay control centre. It feeds the radio or playlist to all the HomePods and as I move about I either change the volume on the homepod itself or just as Siri to either increase or decrease volume, mute, or if it is a playlist I can skip to the next track. It is not an ideal situation but allows me to use the HomePods. There is an update to the Apple software soon but I’m not holding out much hope for official Roon end point, it is a small user base I suspect. They do sound excellent though, and you can buy them on a deal, there is also a smaller cheaper version expected so it may change then. In the meantime, the house is full of good sounding music most of the time, surely the main objective…

1 Like

Hi Bill,

When Roon is playing music over my HomePods they sound great. Until they don’t.

It’s so easy to select the HomePod and send music to it. When it works - which is most of the time, it sounds great.

I’ve found that syncing issues or start/stops on the HomePods is due to congestion on my home WiFi network. When no one else is home, everything runs great. But as soon as others come in, with their handheld devices and peculiar “Alexa” needs, the Airplay and Airplay2 music streaming goes off the rails. Sometimes I wish the HomePods came with ethernet jacks.