Installing a new SSD in an existing NUC running ROCK

Hi there,

I am waiting on the delivery of a new fanless case for my NUC7i7BNB NUC running ROCK. It currently has a Samsung 250GB NVMe SSD installed along with Crucial 2x4gb 2133 DDR4 ram. I have a Qobuz subscription and around 5k albums stored on my Synology DS918+ NAS. I also run HQ Player on my desktop PC.

So, to access albums currently the NUC accesses the NAS over ethernet and it works pretty well, but I have started wondering whether I should add a futher new SSD into the NUC as music storage with the NAS then relegated to back-up duties.

The main reason for doing this would be speed and that is my main question, would installing a good quality SSD into the NUC improve performance? Its not exactly slow now, but a ā€˜punchierā€™ experience is always welcome.

I have posted this in tinkering as it seems the most appropriate place.

AFAIK, there would be no increase in performance using an SSD instead of a HDD for music storage in a NUC. The only advantages would be a) increased storage over a HDD and b) silent in operation.

I think he wants to use an internal SSD for his music instead of his NAS. If you are experiencing any delays loading new albums or songs, I would think you would see a significant improvement.

And c) the ā€œWatching for new files in real timeā€ would workā€¦

1 Like

Hi Ross
I have all my music on a ReadyNAS, then went and upgraded my Roon Rock server to a NUC with an SSD drive. That made a difference to the speed the data was updated, the music wasnā€™t that different. However, the addition of an SSDHD to my NUC, with my music copied onto it, the sound was immediately changed, the sound stage completely changed, much wider, better low and higher notes, and a lack of sibilance.

However, if you are using a standard PC and do not have a high quality (i.e. Naim/Linn) system it is unlikely youā€™ll notice the difference.