Large library and library import settings

@support

I am new to Roon but have been using LMS for over 10 years so I’m not new to music streaming.

I installed Roon a little over two weeks ago using a Windows 10 desktop computer as the Roon Core (i7-6700 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB of RAM). Roon imported my very large music library, which is located on two Drobo arrays and contains over 52,000 albums with over 700,000 tracks spread across four volumes, and everything was working great until…

Okay so once all my music was imported into Roon I realized that I was not happy with the way some things were being shown within Roon and by the fact that over 11,000 albums were listed as “unidentified”. So I started to play around “under the hood”.

I changed the Genre setting to have Roon use my genre tags as well as Roon’s own genre tags. Then I changed the import date from “date imported into Roon” to “date file modified”. I may have tweaked a few other settings but I’m not sure (I’ll explain this below).

After I made these changes Roon then proceeded to apply these revised settings. That was over three days ago and since that time Roon has been “applying” these changes and is still not finished. That would not be a problem except for the fact that Roon is not able to play music - not from my library, not from Tidal and no internet radio as well. I know that Roon is still applying the changes because the progress bar does keep showing progress. Plus Roon is now struggling to add new music to my library, something which Roon handled with speed and ease before the never ending “applying library settings” cycle began.

I’m hoping that Roon will go back to “normal” behavior once the “applying library settings” is complete and I will update this thread once that happens, that is if Roon ever does finish.