More mind-blowing distortion on Roon FLAC files

I need to restart a similar thread that seems to have been closed on December of 2018 (but not resolved, in my opinion). I am new to high-res streaming and I am now getting a loud screeching distortion when I pause a track, then resume it a few minutes later. This does not happen on all tracks, but I have noticed it on streamed FLAC files from both Qobuz and Tidal. What’s extremely peculiar is that the same thing is happening on Audirvana. The two players have different sets of settings and I cannot find any setting that would be causing this. I can shut down both players, restart them, and if I resume the same track, the distortion continues to happen. I have a pretty high-end DAC and headphone amp that I’ve also shut down and restarted. Same thing. I’m running on a MacBook Pro (with either power adapter or on battery) and as far as I know, I have the settings on both players to avoid any involvement Apple might have in manipulating the music between the players and the DAC. I’m also using a premium $400 solid silver USB cable between the Mac and DAC. As far as headphones go, I have several sets that I’ve exchanged, with no resolve. What could be causing this? There are way too many variables for me to test any further. And it makes no sense that these files are coming from different sources and happening on two different players. It’s also not always the same track. My mind is blown (as well as my eardrums). And I fear for the safety of some expensive equipment. I have a lot invested in this setup and I would hate for it to be a waste. This has been happening at least once each time I use the rig. One last thing. I’m not 100% sure this only effects FLAC files. But I do believe they’re only high-res, thus far. Thanks for any help I can get. Could this have anything to do with upsampling?

I’ve moved this to support. It would be helpful if you list your equipment in detail.