NAS Functionality

Hello,
I’m very new to Roon. I have a Yamaha rx-3080 AVR connected via hdmi and wired Lan to a Qnap NAS. I store all my music from downloads to ripped CDs along with photos on the NAS and currently use the DLNA function to access it and play on my AVR. I see Yamaha is not really considered a partner but musiccast is. First question if I install Roon server on the NAS will it keep my current multi-media folders and files intact? I assuming it will but and built the roon database with a pointer to the music file location. Second question. Can I use the roon app on my phone to play music from the roon server to my AVR? I also under stand I can stream music from the roon server to compatible wireless speakers around the house.

Hello @TODD_LEWIS and welcome to the community. I’ve moved your post to the #roon category of the forum because your questions are about setting up Roon.

If your QNAP NAS is equal to the task of running the Roon Server, then you can install it on the QNAP - check out the requirements given in this article:

If not, then you will need to install your Roon Core (which is contained in the All-in-one Roon package or Roon Server) elsewhere, and access your music on the NAS as a Watched Folder in Roon.

In either case, Roon will not modify your music files and folders in any way. However, Roon has the best chance of identifying your music if each album corresponds to a folder containing the album tracks.

If Roon Server is installed on the QNAP, then it can use the HDMI connection to your AVR, and yes, you can use the Roon app on your phone to play music from the Roon Core (in Roon Server) to your AVR.

1 Like

Ok, Its seems similar to PLEX which is installed as well. I assume Roon can do much more?

What can Roon do? Over to Enno…

Thanks Geoff. I have a QNAP TS-453D with 4 core Intel Celeron CPU, 8Gb RAM, and 3TB SSD with Raid 1. This should work right?