Need Help to stream DSD to SD3100HV

Hello, I am new to Roon and the SD3100HV. I am using MacBook Pro for Roon and unable to stream DSD files from external HD to SD3100HV. Playback signal path always convert DSD to PCM. Is there a way to stay on DSD?
I have the SD3100HV since April 2020 but I have not heard a DSD music play through the SD3100HV, only PCM. Do I need some special software load on the MacBook Pro to play DSD files?
Many thanks for your help.

Hi,

No additional software should be necessary on MacOs, but keep in mind that with MacOS you can only do DoP (DSD over PCM, or DSD encapsulated in PCM packets) and not direct DSD
To play DSD, you need to enable DSD sample rate conversion (if you are not using DSD files as source). To do that go to DAC DSP Settings and enable sample rate conversion to DSD and choose the better DSD sample rate you can pick (it will never be the maximum of SDV31000HV due to using DoP and also macbook processor may be limiting factor here).

PS: nice DAC, one of the best i have heard to date :wink:

DSD playback strategy also needs to be set. this tells roon how to handle DSD files – it is described in the roon documentation here:

https://kb.roonlabs.com/Audio_Setup_Basics

if you want, you can convert PCM files to DSD using roos’s DSP functionality as described in the roon documentation here:

https://kb.roonlabs.com/DSP_Engine:_Sample_Rate_Conversion

hi Jonnie, thanks for your insight. Where is The DAC DSP Settings located, in Roon or SD3100HV. I am not savvy and new in streaming.

hi aKnyght, I want to purchase some native DSD files from NativeDSD Music and play in my system. The dealer in my country is not savvy and unable to help me. I will try and contact T+A E-Service. Thanks for the info. Having a DAC that is supposed to be able to handle native DSD1024 and I am unable to play even native DSD64 is very frustrating.

I also have a “uncertified” error on the SD3100HV. Do not know why such error.

Disable volume leveling.