or
D-link DIR-1750

Connected Audio Devices

For Roon Core: Classé CP-800
For others room listening: Surface Book 3 with iFi iDSD micro Signature

Library Size

19,722 tracks

Description of Issue

Hello, I am new to Roon and have a problem that I cannot resolve. While listening, I have parasitic (pop) noises that appear randomly. It is like listening to vinyl records.
ROON CORE
The server is hooked up to my sound system in my main listening room. When I listen to music directly from the server, there is no problem, no pop, everything is perfect.
Surface Book 3
I bought this computer to listen to music on headphones remotely with Roonbridge. I have an iFi iDSD micro Signature sound card. I have tried almost every possible combination of audio settings without succeeding in eliminating parasitic noise in both Wi-Fi and Ethernet.
For my Ethernet tests, I used 3 foot cables on each side of my router to make sure that noise was not coming from the cables. I also tried two different routers.
Tests
Test 1: SB3 + iFi + WiFi + Roon + Roonbridge → parasitic noise
Test 2: SB3 + iFi + Ethernet + Roon + Roonbridge → parasitic noise
Test 3: SB3 + iFi + WiFi + Jriver with DLNA → no noise
Test 4: SB3 + iFi + Ethernet + Jriver with DLNA → no noise
Test 5: SB3 + iFi + Roon (local) → parasitic noise
Test 6: SB3 + iFi + Jriver (local) → no parasitic noise
Test 7: SB3 + iFi + Youtube (local) → no noise
Test 8: Dell PC + iFi + Ethernet + Roon + Roonbridge → no noise
My test # 8 shows that noise only occurs on SB3. On SB3,

parasitic noise does not occur with Jriver, Windows Player, etc.
Thanks
Luc

Just a shot in the dark, but it might be the WASAPI driver. I remember having similar issues when playing files with Audacity through WASAPI. Try DirectSound or ASIO if available.

And, please let us see a screen shot of your audio devices settings.
Particularly buffering and clock settings.
And, do you have a Signature or Black Label?
What USB cable are you using?

Thanks guys.