Remote problems. Not connecting to Core

Core machine is a PC running on Windows 10 TEXT GOES HERE

Network: wifi, . Videotron router.

PC is connected to an external DAC via USB

I have been using Roon for 2-3 years now and have never succeded in using my phone as remote. It is an iPhone 6. Also tried with a iPad. Did not work either. The app cannot connect to the core. Both my firewalls (Windows and Avast) are desactivated.

Is your PC core connected via WIFI. If so, are your iPhone and iPad on the same WIFI frequency as the PC, either 2.4 or 5?

Check the IP for your phone’s WiFi connection against the IP of the Roon Core. Are they on the same subnet?
Example: Core = 192.168.1.10/24 (or netmask of 255.255.255.0) and your Phone is also on the 192.168.1.x network with say an IP of 192.168.1.20 with similar netmask.

If your Core is on 192.168.1.x and your phone is on 10.0.0.x, more than likely the two are not going to talk to each other.

The bottom line is that this is less about frequency and more about the network(s) the devices are connected to. If you know the address of your Core you should be able to specify it – I’ve never had to do it but I’ve read that its possible and should be within that same configuration screen on a following page once a Core cannot be found.

By the way, that’s just the way broadcast packets work, so it’s not a Roon shortcoming should you come to that conclusion. This is typical for a lot of situations where broadcasting is used for device/service discovery.

I think it’s both if the core is using WIFI.

I guess it would depend on the WiFi router. That should only be an issue if Direct WiFi were used like when you setup a smart bulb or something like that. I wonder if OP fixed the issue.

Hi all, thank you for your replies. I tried, tonight, a lot of the things suggested, ton finally find out that I just had to answer «yes» to the program asking me if I want to chose another Core… Jeez… Well, thank’s everybody.