Roon doesn't see Squeezebox devices

@Support

Hello
I’m new to ROON, and just installed Roon core on my Windows 8.1 PC.

My issue is: Roon can’t detect my Squeezeboxes although I think I’ve done all the prerequisites:

• close down LMS on my NAS
  • clear ZoneAlarm firewall for ports 9000 and 3483 (both TCP ands UDP)
  • set port forwarding accordingly on my Box/modem-router

At this point my remote library (Synology NAS / DSM 6) has been correctly scanned (350 albums) , however the only device detected by ROON seems to be my Smart TV … I’ve restarted Roon and re-retected devices, but to no avail.
Am I missing something ? Please help and advise !
Thank you
JLT

1 Like

@JL_Tancerman I would turn off the firewall completely for troubleshooting to start with. Keep your network as simple as can be.

Everything needs to be on the same subnet too, incase you have anything like VLANS or whatnot.

You should also provide some more info as noted here

flagging support for you too @support

Have you enable Squeezebox Support in Roon?

Hello @JL_Tancerman,

Can you please verify that you have enabled Squeezebox Support in Roon Settings? This option should look like this:

I would also temporarily disable your firewall as @wizardofoz mentioned. Please let me know if that helps.

Thanks,
Noris

I have to point the squeezebox to the IP of the Roon server. For example, my Boom requires me to set the IP of the computer running RoonServer on the Boom; then everything will connect.

Hello

and thank you (ALL of you) for your quick response to my help request.

I have read all the threads regarding “don’t see my Suqeezebox in Roon”, and indeed, I have:

• killed my firewall altogether, and verified there was NO hidden LMS running anywhere in the background, or any other UPNP or DLNA server for that matter,
  • restarted my squeezebox and updated its firmware to 7.8.0 (EDO enabled)
  • doublechecked that the “enable SQ support” was ON in Roon settings