Roon is stuck at "Adding Music to your Library"

I have been running roon for 2 years with the existing setup:

1. All music files residing on Synology NAS
  2. Roon Core running on iMAC (latest version)
  3. Roon endpoint running on a mac-mini (latest version)

All three devices are wired in same switch (Ubiquiti Unifi). A verizon Fios gateway is also wired to the same switch which implements the internet connection.

Roon Core+Control on imac has been flaky for me for a while. My database is very big. 1/2 times Roon would crash on startup. I decided to move Roon core on a Roonserver (later version) running on a different PC (Ubuntu linux 16.04). I did a core migration by the book (database backup and restore) and started up the core on the linux machine. The linux PC is on the same Ubiquiti switch.

When I startup up roon control on the imac right now I get following message (stuck forever):

“Adding Music to Library; Of 41 tracks, 41 added, 40 identified”

I read a similar thread on the support forum and it stated that Roon cannot communicate with your servers. Can you please let me know how to address this? Rebooting Roonserver (linux pc) and Roon endpoint (imac) has not fixed this.

Thank you

-duke

I want to correct something: My Roonserver is the latest version (not later). So is the control on all my devices.

Hi @Thucydides_Xanthopou ---- Thank you for the report and sharing your feedback with us. The insight is appreciated!

Moving forward, to help aide in our evaluation of this behavior may I very kindly ask you to please provide me with the following information:

• Please provide the exact model of iMac that was previously hosting your Roon core.

• When you began to notice this crashing behavior on the iMac did Roon generate any error messages? I would expect an OSX crash report to appear but I am curious if at any point you saw any warnings in Roon.
  • Please provide the make, model, and specs of the new core machine.