Roon-ready dac-less endpoint streamer recommendations

i’m currently using a mac mini as a roon endpoint in my office system. the mini has an ethernet connection and connects to the dac via USB. no real issues, hardware or software, but i’m curious as to whether a dedicated music streamer will represent an improvement over the mini.

i’m entirely satisfied with the dac i’m using in my office system (a line magnetic 32), so i’m only interested in dac-less streamers.

i’ve got the roon client running on my primary machine, and use that to select the audio device for playback - either through the main system or through the mini in my office system.

i’ve read reviews of what seem to be the most popular streamers – ifi zen, bluesound, pro-ject, sotm, and of course sonore. users are mixed regarding the first three, especially w.r.t. roon compatibility. the term “buggy software” crops up too often for my taste. in this regard, the mac mini is rock solid. i’ve had some experience with sonore products, but that has been mostly negative. still, i’m willing to give them another chance. as to sotm, i’d like to hear from actual users.

of course that leaves the raspberry pi, but i’m wondering if that wouldn’t be – from a musical standpoint – a downgrade from the mac mini.

opinions welcome

1 Like

Not at all. I am using a RPi 4 in a Flirc case as endpoint with USB connection to my DAC and it works great and is very reliable. I am running RoPieee on this Pi and it just works. Sound quality to my ears is fine. So, as bridge device to receive RAAT over the network and output on USB or, using a HAT, on AES or S/PDIF, I am very much convinced that nothing more is required.

7 Likes

Allo USBridge would be worth looking into.

2 Likes

Allo USBridge

the options are somewhat overwhelming.

e.g. the usbridge sig offers choices for OS.

presumably a power supply and a case would also be required.

so e.g. is the following a reasonable package?