Second computer Mac, with hqplayer integration

Room shows three zones, 1 core, 2 core with HQPlayer, 3 Mac. I am not able to set up an NAA that Roon will see. How do I set up the NAA correctly?
Thanks
PS. I am no computer expert please explain it like I am a 10 year old :sunglasses:

I am using roon server as remote on Mac. It would never install the bridge correctly. Not sure if that has something to do with it. I have a feeling I do not know how to set up the hqplayer correctly.
Thanks again
Dave

Hi David,

Before turning to HQP, you should be able to install Roon Bridge on the Mac without difficulty. Use the installer on the Software page.

Roon doesn’t see an NAA. Roon sees HQP and sends the audio to HQP when it is selected as a zone. HQP handles distribution, sees the NAA and can be configured to send audio to it.

Although you can use a Mac as an NAA it is usual to use a lighter footprint computer.

Firstly, install the NAA software Mac version on the Mac.

If you are using a USB output on the Mac, make sure the DAC is on with its USB input selected. Roon and HQP can only see active USB connections.

Go to HQP, you should see the IP address of the Mac in Tools/Network naming. Set a name for it.

In HQP Settings, choose Network Audio Adapter as the Backend and you should see your Mac as an option in Devices. Choose it.

To set up HQP see:
This KB page about Roon/HQP;
This Kick Start Guide about starting settings in HQP; and
The HQP manual, latest version is in the HQP folder.

Check back here if you strike problems :smile:

I have installed and deleted everything 3 times on bridge but it will not launch. It shows open but can not be closed or forced closed because it does not show on the computer or on the iPad. I am not sure why?