Small network streamer with NO dac

I have a nucleus and want to take my iMac out of the streaming chain. I currently use USB to a Chord mScaler. I want a small network streamer that I can use spdif to connect to my Chord mScaler. Any recommendations? Just a streamer, no dac, and small footprint.

Maybe the iFi ZS?
About $400 new, a few used and open box items around for a bit less .
There is a huge thread on it under the Audio Gear Talk iFi section.

Most of the cheaper streamers that spring to mind tend to be USB output only.

2 Likes

Reply, anything better than the Zen

Not sure what your budget is but really if it’s just a streamer do you need to spend more?

Good point. I have a Nucleus and an MScaler connected to my iMac. Simply want to take the iMac out of the equation without relocating my nucleus near my audio stuff.

I use the Allo DigiONE with my Chord Qutest.

With this case…

Smoke me a kipper. ■■■■■ I grew up with those in the house for breakfast all the time.

1 Like

Thanks, I don’t see an ethernet port?

An RPi would do nicely. If it has to be S/PDIF, you can use a HAT, but I think USB would be a better option.

Pretty much any little mini PC will do as a streamer, using USB to connect to your DAC. For instance,

If for some reason you require S/PDIF (which I’d discourage as outmoded by the current USB protocols), you will have to find something specifically made for audio purposes, like the Zen Stream.

It’s there; built on top of a Rasberry Pi.

If it has to be spdif then I agree with Martin on the DigiOne. But why not use usb as you do now? Then your only need a RPi (with RoPieee) or an Odroid (with DietPi).

I use a Sonore ultra Rendu uSB → Sonore Ultra Digital for SPDIF out to my M-Scaler → DAVE with good results. I have also used the SOtM SMS 200ultra in place of the ultraRendu with excellent results.

1 Like

Allo lists the DigiOne Player as out-of-stock, but the hat for an RPi is still available. Assuming you can find an RPi somewhere.