Some questions regarding "Bridge"

Dear all

I’m actually using my Synology NAS as a Roon Server. The Files itself are on a Lacie Quadra external HDD attached to the Synology NAS.

To push the music to my Dali Zensor 5 I’m using a RaspberryPI with Hifiberry DAC+ Pro (used as a “Bridge”, right? Software used: Roon Bridge). Everything is delivered to my Yamaha A-S810.

Now, I’m not an expert…the RaspberryPi was a kind of “let me test” stuff…but I think I can get much more out of the RaspberryPi (with ALLO?). Is the Hifiberry DAC+ Pro enough or should I replace the complete RaspberryPi with another “Bridge”?

My plan actually is to put the Roon Core to a Intel NUC 8th Gen. i3 and not on my NAS.

Can someone give me some help regarding RaspberryPi and “Bridge”?

Many thanks for your help.

BR

Piero

Same plan here, but with i5

Your current Raspberry Pi/ HiFiBerry DAC hat combo is both transport/ end-point and DAC. Think of the RPI (including OS) without the hat as Roon Bridge. Whether you connect a Pi “hat” (I2S connection) or an external DAC (USB connection) is largely immaterial. These are devices you connect to the Bridge.

So, you have a number of options to consider:

1. Keep RPi as bridge
    a.with DAC hat using I2S
    b. with external DAC using USB
    c. with external DAC using coaxial plus an SPDIF hat
  2. Buy a consumer Roon-ready network player/ streamer/ DAC

Moving Roon Core to a NUC should have no bearing on this.

1 Like

If you want to step it up a notch you should consider getting a separate DAC and use the Pi only as transport.

1 Like

but i have a DAC…(yamaha a-s801)

Then you don’t need DAC on the endpoint that is serving your Yamaha. In fact, it’s worse than redundant, it’s counter-productive as you will be performing multiple, unnecessary Digital-to Analog Conversions.

Yeah. Wat @xxx said.

I presumed the Yamaha has no DAC on board. If it has then remove the DAC HAT and use a digital transport (USB, Coax, Optical, I2S).