Sound Quality You Can Expect

Hi, I am new with Roon (3rd day of trial).

I got it running alright on a Debian 10 Laptop (6 years ago it was a top laptop).
Music files are on a Synology NAS (FLAC and elder MP3 plus M3U playlists), access via Samba/CIFS.
Network is GB ethernet LAN, switched.
Player is an Onkyo TX-8250.

I succeded in getting the music files and playlists into Roon Server and can play them on the Onkyo via Airplay or Chromecast-built-in.

I usually listen to the music on the TX-8250 via DLNA from the Synology (Media Server software).

Listening to the music roughly gave me the following impression:
Airplay sound was OK, but worse than the other playback options I have.
Chromecast had very good sound quality, comparable to DLNA (without Roon), but sounded different than the usual setup.

Obviously I currently do not have the optimal setup, but in this setup there was no gain in sound quality.
I suppose I can improve a little bit by moving the music files to the Roon machine or by installing Roon on the NAS, but that’s probalby all I can do in that perspective.

What sound quality improvements can I expect with investing into a “Roon ready” receiver (provided it is a good receiver)?

Best regards
Al