Taking a risk with an Audiolab 9000n

I am furious to say the least that I have bought the Audiolab 9000n and set it up today only to find it is not Roon Ready despite what Roon on my Mac says. I read the short topic on this so no it isn’t RR despite what Audiolab say, which is illegal here in UK.

However, it plays directly streaming Qobuz to which I have a subscription.Trouble with that is I can’t alter the sound (as far as I can tell).

The main thing is I really like Audiolab stuff and the sound and I like this stremer and how it works BUT I either send it right back and look for a different one or do I wait till Audiolab or Roon pulls it finger out and gets the certification.

Audiolab are only down the road from me and if I wasn’t a wheelchair user I might go and say my piece them! Instead I’ll phone them on Monday but tomorrow will tell the dealer the situation and that I may be returning.

In the meantime can anyone recommend a streamer DAC or just a DAC?

I would never buy something because it “might” do something advertised in the future. Roon’s partner page does not list the 9000n at all, it only lists the 9000a as “Roon Tested”. Here is a link to the Roon Partner page to verify the status of any certification, What does Roon work with?

Many like the DMP-A6 and many like the Rose 150. Both give you big video screen to look at. I have not used either so can’t really give a personal endorsement.

1 Like

It may not be on Roon’s Audiolab page, but Audiolab are clearly advertising it as RR :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

1 Like

They seem confused, the text says “It is officially Roon Tested” while the picture shows “Roon Ready”. If they can’t get this right, not sure if I’d trust their engineering

3 Likes

I have the 8300a and 8300cdq and both are excellent. They are a well respected audiophile company and thy have effed up with this. You are correct all the advertising says Roon Reday which as it is not is not ok in UK.