Tidal confusion about MQA and signal processing

Hello Roon Lovers,

I wanted to try Tidal Masters and MQA so I got a subscription to see if I like it.

I have connected my Hegel H120 via Ethernet. I am confused about MQA and signal processing.

• The upper picture shows a good old Yes album (!) played on my Hegel. Then it is no MQA core decoding by Roon. Instead it is converted to 44,1 kHz.

• The lower picture is same track played on my Mac and computer speakers . Then it is MQA core decoding to 96 kHz.

Can anyone tell me why this is happening? It is in Swedish but I guess you understand.
Why doesn’t Roon in this case do MQA core decoding?
On some Albums it does MQA Core decoding up to 88,2 kHz.

The Hegel is telling roon it will do it so. The 44 to 105 is happening after roon and inside the Hegel, which as it is roon ready is telling roon what it is doing.
The Hegel has a special/odd way of converting as you can see

It looks like MQA has not been enabled for your “Magnus Hegel” zone. Click zone and enable MQA core decode in Roon.

You should also note that the H120 is not MQA certified and you will only get the first unfold done in Roon.

Hope this helps.

So what does this mean.? That in this case Hegel tells Roon to ignore the MQA 96 kHz and treat it as a Flac 24 bit 48 kHz. But then it is no use for MQA?

It is enabled. And I know just the first unfold is done.

From your screenshot it does not seem that way.

But hey… you know better :slight_smile: