Where can I find directions for connecting Roon on my PC to Denon amp via wifi?

I am a newbie here so looking for some basic guidance from folks on where I can locate information on how I can connect my Roon on Windows PC to my Denon amp using wifi. Suggestions welcome - I tried a few searches and scrolling through topics, but didn’t see anything that was immediately obvious.

Thanks in advance!

Mark

Hi Mark,

Which Denon amp?

Basically, you would make sure Airplay and/or Chromecast is turned on at the amp and can be seen on the same network as your PC. Then you would go into Roon, Settings/Audio, if either is seen as active, Roon will display them. You would first Enable it under Settings/Audio, and then you would select it as the output of choice.

Seems like a lot of steps, but, really once you’ve done it once, it’s only a few seconds.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply and help!

I have the Denon - DRA-800H 2-Channel Stereo Network Receiver for Home Theater. I just set up Heos app on my phone and am able to play music from my phone on the amp via wifi so I anticipate that the steps you outline to setup should work. I will try this out shortly…

Mark

Roon should allow you to stream to the Denon using Airplay.
If you want to leverage hi-res capabilities of the Denon, you might want to have a look at the RHEOS Extension, but this will require some tinkering.

1 Like

When I access Roon, Settings, Audio from my Windows PC, I see my Denon amp listed under roon tested. However, there is no Enable button displayed. When I click on the settings icon and select Device setup, I get a dialog box but am unable to save any settings.

When I open File Explorer and select Network it displays the Denon amp under Media Devices so the PC can see it.