Getting started with Roon - should I get a Roon ready endpoint

I am just getting started with Roon. I got my core set up on a Synology NAS last night and was able to stream music to Yamaha RXV779 receiver via Airplay 2. I must say it sounds really good. I also have a Sonos connect attached to my Yamaha as well, but have not been able to test this yet.

My question is should I look into a Roon ready endpoint considering the hardware I currently have? If so what would the group recommend under $1000.

Btw: I am blown away by the Roon software interface. Easy to use, beautiful to look at, yet has all the geeky bits of information a geek would want. Great job guys!

Since you are just starting, I would recommend something much less than $1000.

An RPi will work to get your feet wet, or for more upscale but still cheap try an Allo device.

What input on the Yamaha were you intending to use? The streaming solution you use will depend on the available inputs on the Yamaha.

Allo has two different turnkey transports -
https://allo.com/sparky/usbridge.html
https://allo.com/sparky/digione-signature-player.html

BTW - As far as SQ goes, I really dislike Airplay. You can do much better.

Slim - I don’t think the Allo USBridge is appropriate here - the Yamaha doesn’t have a USB input for digital audio as far as I can see. It has a USB input for an iPhone or USB storage stick, but that’s a different usage.

Yeah, that’s why I asked what inputs he thought he was going to use.

I really couldn’t see any other way but Airplay.

Well, if the Roon Core was running on a NUC (with either Windows or ROCK), it could connect to the Yamaha via HDMI. But I don’t think it’s possible with Core on a Synology.

It would be possible to use an RPi + DAC HAT (e.g. from IQaudio, Hi-Fi Berry or Allo) and then use digital audio (optical or coax) into the Yamaha.

I use the Chromecast Ultra on my Yamaha. Works well.

–MD

DigiOne for the win with Coax. (Not the Signature)

1 Like