Group Artists (or Songs or Albums) by first letter?

Hi there. I am new to Roon. I have a very large music collection so scrolling through it all my artist or song title or album can be tedious. Is it possible to group things by first letter? Minimserver has this nice feature which has been really useful for me. This makes the list to scroll through much shorter.

Hi, not as such however …

When viewing the browser screen it is possible to jump directly to a different section without scrolling.

• If you just type a letter Roon will jump to the first artist starting with that letter.
  • If you just type say “Peter” Roon will jump to the first artist starting with “Peter”.

Note this is done without clicking on search, just type and the browser screen will react.

You could also use the Alpha Navigation feature have a read of this topic for more details.

Hope that helps.

Thank you…the Alpha Navigation works but why does it have to be so obtrusive? Why cant it be smaller and take up less real estate?

For touch (tablets), it needs to be finger friendly. For desktop, it’s way faster to just use the keyboard – that’s why alpha navy it is off by default on Roon desktop.

It seems there is no Alpha navigation option of mobile??? I am using Roon remote on my Note 3.

When I type a letter on the desktop app, only the first 5 artists are listed. On mobile it looks like more of the artsts starting with a certain letter shows but still not all of them. Is this the intended behavior?

You are using search, am I right?
What is mentioned here, is typing one or more letters in album or artist view. Then the list scrolls to the wanted position. You see the full list.

Yes this is search. I didnt realize I could type a letter directly into the keyboard the screen to jump to that letter in my librrary. Thank you!

[quote=“Tommy_Bui, post:8, topic:11128”]
I didnt realize I could type a letter directly into the keyboard