Headphone Amp Help

I’m not a proficient headfi guy and need assistance with looking for a headphone amp, if needed at all.

My new wired headphones are on route and I’m in need of a headphone amp with or w/out a DAC.

I’m keeping the make out of this as I’d like this thread to not get bogged down with individual thoughts of the headphones, just a headphone amp.

These headphones specs are;
• Frequency response:6Hz - 50kHz
• Sensitivity: 98dB
• Impedance: 20ohm

They’re are bright but articulate and transparent, energetic mids and warm bass.

Based on the specs I know I could just use, when portable, with a dongle DAC such as my AQ Cobalt. I want a fixed location solution to maximise SQ.

Budget £200-400.

Thanks in advance for any input you care to give.

Edit/Update;
I chose to go with a Schiit Magni 3 HP amp to use with my Hifiman Sundara closed back HPs

In that price range? Schiit.

[Also Fiio, iFi, many others]. But I’m a big Schiit Head. Get a Schiit Stack of Modi/Magni or if you want to touch into tubes get a Vali 2+ and Modi 3e. At that price point you’ll get much more for your pound if you go used on eBay - the UK distributor charges a big markup on his Schiit. The iFi Zen DAC is also great if you don’t want separates, and readily available on Amazon.

4 Likes

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

Yeah, must admit I like Schiit!

1 Like

Well done Johnny that made me laugh out loud :+1:t2:

I have iFi Zen DAC (original) and FIIO K5 Pro and both drive ally headphones easily.
There are a huge number of options available, but I have never really found the Schiit to be in stock (UK) since lockdown, and I looked a lot.

2 Likes

Topping DX3pro+ all the way. :headphones:

2 Likes

Might be worth having a look at Cheapaudioman on YouTube as he reviews a lot at that price point and I usually enjoy them

This recent one might be of interest to you.

1 Like