How do I achieve Lossless streaming from Roon (via MacBook) to Denon AVR-S760H

Roon Server Machine

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Connected Audio Devices

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

Hello,

I’m new to Roon, I absolutely love it!

I’d like to stream lossless music (higher than CD quality) to my Denon AVR-S760H, it seems to cap at 44.1, but I’d like to enjoy some albums I’ve found at a higher rate on Tidal (via Roon). How can I go about this? Would a WiiM Mini or Pro work?

Many thanks!

Do you have a link to the Denon AVR-S70H with specs? Can’t find it on Denon’s website and Google finds only Denon AVR-S750H and similar, I suppose successors or something

Edit: Ah I see you wrote Denon AVR-S760H in the title, just missed a digit in the post. Back soon…

Thanks so much, I’ve edited my post to avoid confusion.

It seems to have an optical and HDMI inputs. How are you connecting it now?

Some MacBooks had an optical out hidden in the headphone jack. Newer ones don’t, I think, so it depends on the MacBook you have.

Other MacBooks have a HDMI out, so this might work, too:

Not sure about the Denon capping currently at CD quality, but I’d be surprised if this was all it’s capable of on digital inputs.

If you don’t want to run a cable from your MacBook, and generally probably the better solution, a preferably Roon Ready streamer would work if it can output HDMI or optical. I don’t think the Wiim Pro is Roon Ready yet, at least it apparently wasn’t on Oct 4:

Alternatives would be the Bluesound Node but it has no HDMI just Toslink optical (which is capped at 96 kHz - really more than enough, but just saying). The iFi Zen Stream has a Coax (end else USB but this doesn’t help) output and you’d need an extra (small) box to convert to Toslink.

Else I dunno. Maybe you can also rig up a Raspberry Pi with Roon Bridge installed if it can be had with appropriate outputs

1 Like

Thanks so much for your response, and so fast!!